A Different World

A Different World

Sep. 24, 1987
Duration: 60 min/episode
Rated: TV-PG
Status: Ended

Seasons and episodes

6Season 6Sep. 24, 1992
5Season 5Sep. 19, 1991
4Season 4Sep. 20, 1990
3Season 3Sep. 21, 1989
2Season 2Oct. 06, 1988
1Season 1Sep. 24, 1987


Bill Cosby


Jasmine Guy
Whitley Marion Gilbert
Dawnn Lewis
Jaleesa Vinson-Taylor
Kadeem Hardison
Dwayne Cleophus Wayne
Charnele Brown
Kimberly Reese
Glynn Turman
Colonel Bradford Taylor
Loretta Devine
Stevie Rallen
Marisa Tomei
Maggie Lauten
Mary Alice
Leticia "Lettie" Bostic


A Different World is an American television sitcom which aired for six seasons on NBC. It is a spin-off series from The Cosby Show and originally centered on Denise Huxtable and the life of students at Hillman College, a fictional mixed but historically black college in the state of Virginia. After Bonet's departure in the first season, the remainder of the series primarily focused more on Southern belle Whitley Gilbert and mathematics whiz Dwayne Wayne. The series frequently depicted members of the major historically black fraternities and sororities. While it was a spin-off from The Cosby Show, A Different World would typically address issues that were avoided by The Cosby Show writers. One episode that aired in 1990 was one of the first American network television episodes to address the HIV/AIDS epidemic.

Original titleA Different World
First air dateSep. 24, 1987
Last air dateJul. 09, 1993
IMDb Rating6.96 281 votes
TMDb Rating6.836 votes

Similar titles

Just Beyond
Mad About You
Iggy & Ace
Guilty Party
The Family Man
Ted Lasso
Mortimer & Whitehouse: Gone Fishing
Crash Landing on You
Men in Kilts: A Roadtrip with Sam and Graham