One Foot in the Grave

One Foot in the Grave

Jan. 04, 1990
Duration: 90 min/episode
Rated: TV-PG
Status: Ended

Seasons and episodes

6Season 6Oct. 16, 2000
5Season 5Jan. 01, 1995
4Season 4Jan. 31, 1993
3Season 3Feb. 02, 1992
2Season 2Oct. 04, 1990
1Season 1Jan. 04, 1990


One Foot in the Grave is a BBC television sitcom series The series features the exploits of Victor Meldrew and his long-suffering wife, Margaret. The programmes invariably deal with Meldrew's battle against the problems he creates for himself. Living in a typical household in an unnamed English suburb, Victor takes involuntary early retirement. His various efforts to keep himself busy, while encountering various misfortunes and misunderstandings are the themes of the sitcom. The series was largely filmed on location in Walkford, near New Milton in Hampshire, although several clues show that the series may have been set in Hampshire – possibly Winchester. Despite its traditional production, the series supplants its domestic sitcom setting with elements of black humour and surrealism.

One Foot in the Grave
One Foot in the Grave
Original titleOne Foot in the Grave
First air dateJan. 04, 1990
Last air dateNov. 20, 2000
IMDb Rating7.86 003 votes
TMDb Rating7.647 votes

Similar titles

Iggy & Ace
Guilty Party
Just Beyond
Mad About You
Mortimer & Whitehouse: Gone Fishing
The Family Man
Ted Lasso
Men in Kilts: A Roadtrip with Sam and Graham
Crash Landing on You